Interdimensional

button

In the middle of my subatomic collider
I uncovered a hole between realities
a fault between dimensions
and so I climbed into
the crawlspace under the universe
the air conditioning duct over space
and huddled into little boy shapes

and then fell out and found myself
lying on a sidewalk
bound up by dirty, smelly clothes
all my decades-old belongings
bundled in a stolen shopping cart

powerful young men drove by
in powerful young sports cars
and showed me obscene gestures
while thin pretty women, model-waifs
held their noses and gagged
walking over me

but in my pocket I found
something that came with me
out of the interdimensional rip
it was my piece of gold
with a covered button on top
that when pressed would destroy
the entire universe
my reality-ending treasure

I took it out
and looked at it
and smiled
and rubbed the cover over the button
and decided not to open it
and decided not to press it

I climbed back in
to the hollow between worlds
dodged the sewage of black holes
the drainage pipes of reality
crawled again, for just a little way
hoping and hoping to come out
somewhere other than earth

I felt a weak spot and
poked my finger through
and then fell into
a little girl’s body
pressed down by a heavy weight
a big bag of alcohol breath and slurry threats
to keep quiet and never tell
and to pretend I was giving
what he was taking
and no one would believe me
and it hurt it hurt it hurt
in my body and in my soul

and when he was done
he stumbled away back to my mom’s room
and I cried little seven year old
girl’s tears, but felt
in my pocket
another piece of gold

a second treasure, another button
that could end the universe
and all I had to do was
open the cover
press the button
and end everything

and now I had two of them

I took both of them out
and looked at them
and smiled
and rubbed the covers
admired the color of the buttons
and decided not to press them

back into the rift I climbed
the hidden wallspace
between one universe and the next
felt along the sides
like a rat
astride all the stars

I slid, I slid, I hoped, I hoped
that when next I stepped through
it would be some kind of heaven
an ether field
loved ones and dead relatives
all there and forever living
in a place so unlike my world
I would marvel and wonder
and be innocent again

so when I felt the heat
of a tiny little hole
I pushed through again
and came out into

a 7000 dollar suit
surrounded by a mansion
all modern and clean and pure edges
and no soul, any many people
not servants in name
but all seeking my favor
as I radiated power
like a giant sun
eating up the inner orbits
of all fools who got too near

and I was full
and I had never known hunger
and I had one talent
that was to count the money
that I earned by being born

but in my pocket was one more thing
one more piece of treasure
a THIRD piece of gold
there it was, I pulled it out
of my expensive silk pocket
and looked, and rubbed the cover
over yet another button
that could destroy all creation

and so I pulled
the other two out
three buttons
enough to uncreate creation
three times over

and I smiled
and rubbed the covers

and opened them

and I pushed all three.
and I pushed all three.
and I pushed all three.

About Rob Archer

KNX Los Angeles News Anchor. Author. Musician.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment